parameters

Post #4…

…in which I finally put pencil to paper?  Not just yet, sorry.  There are still a few things to mention:

While I could happily wallow in eye candy for much longer, it’s time to move on.  I generally have enough visual information/inspiration to advance to the sketching stage… soon.

At this juncture, I will mention that unless I am excited about an idea/concept, I might as well not bother; the piece will be… lacking.  The biggest part of the joy in creating, for me, is not in the finished piece, but in the process itself.  So, enjoying the subject is critical.

If I was designing something for sale as a pattern, this is when decisions about subject, size, complexity, color limitations, etc. would need to be made. (See, practicality does assert itself very early in the process!)

None of the following came directly from the Brainstorming done in the previous posts.  But, they are considerations/constraints that need to be addressed now, before proceeding further.

1. The piece is being designed as a gift, so some of the recipient’s personal preferences will be incorporated. The biggest one will be color; she likes more muted, naturalistic hues, rather than bold, in-your-face colors.  In fact, she and I share similar tastes.  🙂

2. I’m leaning toward a floral design.   The floral motifs I’ve seen in different crewel embroideries, and the organic, vine-y shapes are wonderfully appealing to me (and to the person who will be receiving the piece, as luck would have it).  In fact, the format has already been requested:  it will be a bellpull.

3.  The piece needs to be a reasonable size, and not too ambitious… this needlework technique is new to me, and I’d like to finish it in a relatively short amount of time. So, no clothing, upholstery or similar projects… for now. Maybe later. 😉

There will be sketching in the next post, I promise.

This entry was posted in Needlework. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to parameters

  1. Melissa says:

    Thanks for sharing your process! I find it facinating to “watch” how you create your designs from start to finish. You are a very talented lady!

  2. Sheila says:

    Thank you for sharing this with us. I’m finding it fascinating as I’m not at all artistic. I have never given the designing any thought beyond the result.

    You also reminded me why I love doing my cross stitch, it isn’t the finished piece but the process! I needed that reminder.

  3. Fiona says:

    🙂 I can relate to this bit, when writing a dance….this is where I decide on the style. Modern American or 16th century English? What sort of music? How many couples? And what level of expertise?

    The moves come later….

Leave a Reply

