sketching

post #5

OK!  On to sketching.

A very common format for crewel is the bellpull.  Aside from being an historically accurate vehicle for this type of needlework, it’s also a natural for showcasing the floral I’m envisioning.  I’m thinking vertical format, twisty vine-y…

In fact, some of you may remember this drawing.

The idea started here:

Remember, it’s just a sketch.

I like the overall composition.  But something’s missing.  A diamond pattern is stuck in my head.  Probably because I really like the lattice pattern in the largest flower head.  One of the things that can serve to tie a composition together is Repetition…repeating a shape within a drawing/design.  It sets up a rhythm which, it turns out, is very eye-friendly… which equals: more design cohesiveness. No wonder Repetition is sometimes called the Glue that holds a composition together.

So.  How to incorporate it? Maybe an over-all diamond pattern behind things?

Maybe not (on the left)…kinda looks like the plaid pattern on cookie packaging (Sorry, I don’t remember the name of the cookies…shortbread, maybe?, but I remember the plaid!)  Not really what I’m going for. (Though now unfortunately, I am craving shortbread!)  I didn’t even bother to draw in the floral, because… well… yuck.

But the sketch to the right… I like better.

I don’t know whether it’s a hold-over from cross-stitch designing, but somehow things look unfinished without some sort of border.  And maybe I’m willing to admit at this point that I’m missing the grid just a teensy bit?  It was great for working out borders!   I also like that the floral is overlapping the border in places rather than not touching it.  I have no idea at this point whether or not I’ll be able to execute the overlapping, but I’ll give it a shot.

Looks like I’ll need to choose colors soon.  But first, I think I’ll give some serious thought to the types of stitches I’d like to use.

This entry was posted in Needlework and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to sketching

  1. Christine says:

    Even your “sketchy” images are interesting! I’m enjoying learning more about your creative processes. Thank you for sharing.

  2. twentzler says:

    Thanks for commenting, everybody! I hesitated to put such “sketch-y” images in the post… but I’m determined to share everything I can about the process, including the “messy” parts!

  3. Laurylyan says:

    Love it and, like Melissa, I prefer the one on the right! I’m sure it will be splendid once finished and ready for us to buy… 😉

  4. Erica says:

    Hey! I recognize that drawing! Oh wait – maybe ’cause it lives at my house? 🙂 I love it so much!

  5. Melissa says:

    Looks beautiful already! But I agree, I like the one on the right, too! Visually more appealing!

  6. LadyDoc says:

    This looks amazing already.

Leave a Reply

