stitches

Post #7

(Sorry for the pause; I’ve been under the weather.)

I’m going to try to use the same stitches for the new design that I used in the class piece:  long and short stitch (also called soft shading), french knot, buttonhole stitch, chain stitch, coral stitch, detached chain (or lazy daisy), fly stitch, satin stitch, spider web stitch, split stitch, stem stitch and laidwork.  And for good measure, maybe some bullion knots… if my nerves will handle it. 😉

Split stitch is used to outline the areas before they are stitched with satin, soft shading, and fly stitch…so it doesn’t show up on the image.

I’ll do my best to photograph the stitches as I work on the piece.

Next, color selection.  But first, I’ve just GOT to move the design off of that ghastly orange printed graph paper before I go much further.  While the paper is wonderful for working out a composition in pencil (it’s also a tracing paper, which is quite handy as well), it’s impossible for me to make color choices while looking at something drawn on it! 🙂

This entry was posted in Needlework and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to stitches

  1. Leonor says:

    pretty….Please…can you tell me something about fabric an threads…
    Thank you .
    Leonor

  2. bella911 says:

    I would love to learn all about your stitches is there a good place to start in your archives?

    • Hi Bella, and thanks for stopping by! I only do a little crewel embroidery now and then for fun, so I really don’t have any in-depth information on the stitches I use. I would however, like to point you to a fabulous resource for crewel (and other!) embroidery: Mary Corbet’s Needle N Thread. She has an extraordinary collection of information and lovely stitched work to boot: http://www.needlenthread.com/

  3. Thank you for sharing your lovely design and the instructions. I love Crewel. I am sure by sharing your design and stitches you will encourage many to tie up the art of Crewel embroidery. Thank you.

    • I’m terribly behind on responding to comments… my apologies! Thanks for stopping by, Pauline, and for commenting. I love crewel as well. I just wish there were more hours in the day to experiment with it!

  4. sandrajean says:

    I think the design is stunning and I love the colors. I never work with wool but this would look just as beautiful in silk threads.

  5. Zeusgirl says:

    That’s gorgeous!!!

  6. Fiona says:

    Sorry you’ve not been well. it’s a surprise to see just how many different stitches there are in that gorgeous little piece….they fit together so well!

    • Thank you, Fiona! I went a little bananas with stitches, but there are so many to choose from! Since it was designed as a teaching piece, I confess I did intentionally include as many as I could. 😉

Leave a Reply

