still moving ahead

Although my hands are simply not ready to pick up a needle yet…

It occurred to me I could still continue to work somehow on the crewel piece, and share that process with you.  Which means… you guessed it:  yet another drawing:

Again? Why would I do such a thing?  From a designing standpoint, how is this useful?

1. As mentioned before, the hands aren’t ready for stitching yet, but I can draw.  And this is full-size: 18″ high X 7″ wide.

2. If I was designing for the market with the intention of selling the design, I simply wouldn’t have the time for the luxury of making a “complete study” of the design in another medium (pen and ink w/ watercolor).  It would be: Rush, rush, hurry, hurry, do whatever it takes to get the pattern finished and out there for people to buy, ASAP!  But, since that’s not the case anymore, I can take my time. 🙂

3. Making the ink study, and handling my inking technique in a way that more closely mimics the way I would be stitching (rather than my usual cross-hatching drawing style) helps me to see how I might chose different stitches to enhance the design. (I was beginning to think I couldn’t draw in ink without cross-hatching.)

4. And, although this really is only marginally related to designing this piece: I wanted to use a cold-press (rough surface) watercolor paper and a heavier nib pen to force me to stay “looser” and less detailed in the execution of the drawing… again: an effort to be closer to stitching with wool than with finer textured fibers.

5. OK.  I confess.  I simply COULD NOT resist inking this design.  I will watercolor tint it as well, with the wool colors I have already chosen:

(Sorry, the colors are a bit washed out in the photo, even after an attempt at color-correction.  Especially the color that looks like blue-violet; it’s  actually a true purple, not blue-ish at all.)

What am I going to do with the diamond border?  So far, drawing it hasn’t helped me decide….

Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Needlework. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to still moving ahead

  1. twentzler says:

    Thanks for commenting everyone!
    Audrey,
    Thanks for the metallic thread suggestion; metallics were not something I had considered using in this piece yet, but they just might provide an interesting counterpoint to the fuzzy-ness of the wool.
    Victoria,
    I agree: Very naughty indeed! 😉
    Melissa,
    Glad you like the project!
    Ternezia,
    I didn’t realize just how much the colors are off! What looks like the shell pink DMC floss family (223, 224, 225, etc.) is really a terra cotta… not orange, but definitely not pink either. The mauve colored wool is fairly close (compare to the DMC antique mauves: 3727, 316, 3726, 315). But the one that’s really different is the purple: there’s not a hint of blue in the one I’ve chosen to use. You’ll probably be surprised to hear that I hadn’t planned to use the browns anywhere but in the stems!… Hmmm… but now that you mention it… 😉

    • Ternezia says:

      Nice to hear it is giving you ideas…The very light browns “gamma”, the ones located on the bottom left of the picture, they would fit good in the border. The darker gamma (bottom right) would be good for the stems, esp the big stem (not sure I phrased it correctly). Just my opinion of course 🙂

  2. Ternezia says:

    Very nice colors, I can see your favorite purple & pink shades present in this project too. The browns are for the border I suppose. Should be awesome 🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    I love the colours you have chosen! Even if the picture isn’t true! I can’t wait to see more!

  4. Victoria says:

    What a gorgeous design! I look forward to seeing the stitching process! You are quite right. The purple colours are very naughty in the pictures and very often pretend to be violet.

  5. Audrey says:

    Very pretty drawing. For the border how about a silver or gold mettalic thread combined with one of the other colors already pulled for the design? Or is that too boring?
    Love the theme tho
    Best wishes
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

