growing on me

For awhile I wasn’t sure I liked the way the terra cotta color was taking over… (Seeing as how colors from that particular area of the color wheel just aren’t my favorites, maybe I was imagining things.)  But I guess it works OK: (I apologize for the wonky photo; my camera seems to  have a bit of a fish-eye problem going on.)

Anyway, since I’m not on a deadline with this design, I can now put it aside for a bit and then look at it with fresh eyes later to *really* be certain of the color balance.

From an artwork standpoint, I will be adding some cast shadows to give the drawing a bit more dimensionality, and it *may* be necessary to add a bit more inkwork to the flowers and leaves to balance what has become a very strong border (almost overpowering) in spite of keeping the colors more subdued… but that fine tuning  will happen on my art blog rather than here.

What I really wanted to accomplish with this drawing as it applies to the (eventually) stitched design was to do a detailed color study.  And I believe I will indeed stick with the wool colors I’ve chosen.

This entry was posted in Needlework. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to growing on me

  1. Gorgeous! love the colors – because that is my color palette

  2. Thutmosis says:

    I think it looks lovely just like it is. Perhaps instead of concentrating on the colors of the borders, look at the leaves. Maybe a darker, stronger green would offset the boldness of the border? Just a thought.

    But I think it’s beautiful anyway. 🙂

  3. Audrey says:

    Very pretty. I like the muted vintage look of your colors!
    Thanks for sharing and the border look great just as is tho I was voting for silver metallic 🙂
    Audrey

  4. LadyDoc says:

    Hi, Teresa!

    Well, I am NO artist. I succeed with all my needlework because some incredibly talented person like you has the vision to create beautiful patterns for us. However…

    I’ve been “crafty” and “creative” all my life. I took art classes in high school and did well only when the assignment was geometric and organized. My drawing skills to create a “reality” image, one that didn’t have symmetry that I could replicate mathematically, are non-existent. But I have an “eye” I’ve been told, for the details of color and balance in the design of needlework.

    My “talent”, which I consider a set of developed skills rather than something innate, is to be able to re-produce from a chart, with particular precision and delicacy, the stitches that a designer saw. My needlework is always meticulous, every stitch done perfectly. I “create” beautiful needlework pieces because of my OCD tendencies and need to do it “right”. Now, with all that said, perhaps not necessarily, here’s my “take” on your piece.

    I love, love LOVE the main image AND I LOVE the border. They are both gorgeous- the flowers are incredible! and the colors in the border, *I* think, really highlight the flowers.

    If you were ever to release this piece as a chart (PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!), I would make one significant change when I stitched it. I would move the border out so that the entire central image was not overlapping onto the border. Just coming up to, and maybe touching the border, but not overlapping. The border is so beautiful and it works with the flowers because it is so different from them. The beautiful symmetry sets off the flowers.

    Anyway, there’s my two cents for whatever it is worth. Either way, the piece is SPECTACULAR!!!

  5. I’m not good with colours but I really like the border. It’s fresh and different. If you stitch the design, I’m wondering what kind of stitch you’ll use for the tiles.

    • twentzler says:

      I’m wondering the same thing, Catherine! It will be interesting to see what does eventually work for a border for this piece… or not. That’s part of the fun of designing; I’m finding it’s more of a fluid process for crewel than for cross stitch. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  6. GeekLady says:

    You won’t like this, but it’s the border. There’s so much brown and pink in the border that it’s muting the pink in the flowers. The same thing is happening to a lesser extent when the leaves overlap near a green diamond, and the blue flower on the mid-upper left overlaps near a blue diamond.

    Really, the border isn’t doing it for me. It doesn’t look right. Plus, just thinking about trying to stitch those flowers and leaves where they overlap the border is making my fingers flinch. I understand wanting to define the edge with some color, but I think a narrow binding in a coordinating color would do the job better.

    • twentzler says:

      GeekLady,
      I see what you’re saying… and I appreciate your feedback. Thank you for explaining how you see it rather than just saying “Nope, not workin’ for me!” 🙂
      I think what’s bothering me the most is that to my eye, the border is simply too strong color-wise; it’s competing with the floral. Having limited crewel stitching experience myself, the overlap against the border doesn’t seem that bad… but that’s probably me just being happily ignorant! LOL Thanks for commenting.

      • Ternezia says:

        hm well ok, regarding the strong colors on the border, I thought the same, but then I looked at the picture of your blog logo, Fruit quartet. The border colors there are quite strong, but they do not fight with the fruit colors because of the tiny black mini-border separating them… Maybe it could give you an idea to use a similar approach here, both designs really look of similar “notion” to me. Some black line in the inner part of the border might make a difference, not only to effect the color play and separate the parts, but also to add more dimension to the design. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

