fun, fun

My hand pain has been diagnosed as severe arthritis… X-rays don’t lie.  (It’s so much fun getting older. ;))  I am scheduled for an injection in the worst-affected joint in about 3 weeks; hopefully it will allow me some pain-free (or at least pain-reduced) stitching time.

Thanks to all of you for your continued well-wishes; I hope to hold a needle again before too long.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to fun, fun

  1. Joanne P says:

    Hope you’ll be stitching again soon, and designing for us to stitch!

  2. I’ve had osteoarthritis since I was in my 20s, adding several other rheumatological diseases in the years since.

    If you were asking for advice, here’s what I’d say:

    Make sure you have the best doctor possible- one who is kind and compassionate, but also one who stays in the forefront, is always up on the newest meds and who is not against “alternate” treatments as well.

    Take the meds!!! If one doesn’t work and the doctor suggests another, try it. I really cannot abide people who have serious medical issues but refuse to make use of modern medicine. I spent 5 years unable to work, and had to give up my career and profession. Now I am able to be a teacher and love my 2nd career- but I tell everyone that I can do my job only because of “better living through modern chemistry”.

    Try everything anyone suggests. Some of the things that have really helped me over the years are not things that usually show up in advice-for-arthritics columns. For example- do you have one of those spa gizmos that melt wax, like for manicures and pedicures? Mine is a joy when my hands are cramped and sore.

    Make careful choices. There is a long list of household tasks that I no longer do, or get DH to do, or do far more infrequently than before I got sick. Some because they make me feel worse, and some because I would have to give up something I love in exchange. It will do neither you nor anyone else you are around any good if you are doing “what you should” while giving up what you want. Make sure that you balance the “musts” with the “I loves”.

    Adjust your mindset. I had a terrific life 20 years ago. I have a terrific life now, but it is very different from that other life, and from what I thought then would be my life now. There was a time when my doctor telling me that “this will never kill you” was BAD news- the thought of 30 or 40 more years like this was torture. Now I look at what I can still do, and have found many new things to do to fill in for the things I can no longer do.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  3. The best thing for treating a disease like this is to get a GREAT rheumatologist, and it is hard to find one. Apparently there are few of them. I live in a city of about 1,000,000, and it took me about 6 months to find one. He is probably in his mid 70’s, but I love this because his experience really helped me to get a solid diagnosis after being diagnosed with everything from lupus to rheumatoid arthritis to fibromyalgia.

    I wish you the best, and I LOVE your patterns. They’re so realistic and gorgeous. I love history, tales of dragons, journeys, castles, and ladies in huge dresses. I don’t like patterns that just look like little squares.

    When I started stitching, I went to the shop and bought your Unicorn pattern as my second project. I was too stupid to realize that I needed more experience to tackle it, but I managed to complete it, and it’s one of my favorites. I probably won’t ever stitch on black again because my eyes don’t want to cooperate anymore, but I do hope to see more Teresa Wentzler patterns in the future, even though I won’t get the ones I have done in this lifetime 🙂

    I hope you have a speedy recovery.
    Cindy

  4. Ternezia says:

    Injections will help for sure, however you shouldn’t rely long term on them. I’d suggest along with using the traditional, to also look for alternative medicine methods. It is known that they do bring relief, and sometimes complete remissions; however you must find which is *your* method that works well for you.

  5. sunny olsen says:

    Praying for you.

  6. Jan says:

    arthritis sucks… I know… I have it on the insides of both elbow joints. Hope the shots give you some relief

  7. twentzler says:

    Thanks so much, everyone… your good wishes are very appreciated!

  8. Erica says:

    So sorry to hear that it’s arthritis. I really hope the injections help – but it doesn’t sound like fun at all!

    Take care of yourself and I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  9. Fiona says:

    Lots of (((hugs))) to you.

  10. Silverlotus says:

    Oh dear. I really hope the injections help to relieve the pain.

  11. Irene says:

    My thoughts are with you … I do so hope the injection helps.

  12. Lindsay says:

    Fingers crossed the injections work for you

  13. Shirley Crockett says:

    I’ll be keeping good thoughts for you. I hope the injection helps, so that you can get back to the stitching that you love.
    Warmly,
    Shirley Crockett

  14. Audrey says:

    So good to know there is hope and health coming! Have a Happy Spring and am glad you will be feeling better.

    Best wishes
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

