more summer

It feels and looks like summer is on the wane here… there’s an autumn tinge in the air, the orchards in the area are advertising peaches and early season apples, the garden is in full production swing, the crickets are chirping, and the goldenrod is beginning to color.

So, I’m working a bit faster these days on Summer Sampler:

A closer view:

Can I just say I’m really enjoying the ribbon embroidery?  It’s very forgiving… even when the stitches aren’t done “perfectly”, they still look good.

Design notes: One of the issues I’m having with this piece is manipulating the scale of the elements.  One of the ways to make something more believable is to make proportions correct.  For example:  the knot design in the center was designed as being viewed from above… so I’d really like to make all of the other elements within that area of the sampler proportionate to maintain a certain believe-ability.  Hope that makes sense.

Anyway.  Originally, I had planned to make ribbon flowers in the area around the central knot.  However, in order to maintain the desired sense of scale, I had to shrink things… hence the ribbon french knots instead.  For those of you dreading already making those knots: they really couldn’t be easier.  Trust me.

The border: it seems to have a life of its own right now, but I’m gradually tying it to the sampler by repeating the colors used in it, and by repeating motifs: specifically the quatrefoil shapes.  Border motifs will be picked up again in the over-one scene… think formal garden: masonry, pillars, urns, etc.

The area pictured still needs some tweaking, but I wanted to share the evolution of this piece (especially since it’s taking so long.)

Next, I’ll be working on the over-one scene…the top of its green border is visible at the bottom of the first picture.

This entry was posted in Needlework and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to more summer

  1. Judith K Walker says:

    I am finally getting around to doing the Mini Summer Sampler. I have already done Winter and Spring.

    I have a question and a small errata to report.

    Question: What color should be used for the diagonal satin stitch blocks on the Knot Garden Motif Area? It appears to be white, but I am not sure.

    Errata. The Algerian eyelet diagram is on Page 2, not Page 6.

    I have really enjoyed doing these samplers. I have the pattern and supplies for the Autumn Sampler and hope to get it done this year.

    • Thanks for commenting, Judith. I’m glad you are enjoying the miniature samplers. Regarding your question: Yes, the diagonal satin stitch blocks should be stitched with white. And thanks for the heads-up about the eyelet diagram. I’ll fix the pattern file for PatternsOnLine.com ASAP! 🙂

      • Judith K Walker says:

        Thanks for your quick reply. And also, I was saddened to hear your arthritis has gotten so bad you can’t stitch. Your designs are so beautiful.

  2. Thanks so much for your kind comments, everyone! Progress continues, but slowly.
    Audrey, the design will be released via PatternsOnLine.com when it’s finished.
    Zeusgirl, yes, those are butterflies. 🙂

  3. Zeusgirl says:

    It’s looking really pretty, Teresa. I love the blue butterflies (I think that’s what they are?) on either side of the word “Summer”. The ribbon work is gorgeous, too.

  4. Jan says:

    It’s beautiful Teresa… Can’t wait to add it to my TW Collection. 😉

  5. Sara says:

    It’s beautiful!! Can’t wait until it’s finished:)

  6. Patty says:

    I’m lovin’ it more and more! I can’t wait to finish this series! Thank you for your creativity and talent, Theresa!

  7. Joanne P says:

    It’s so lovely to be able to see the design process in action! And great that you stitch each piece yourself before sharing with us.

  8. Erica says:

    It’s looking lovely Teresa. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

    Trusting the Queen of Tweeding that knots will be easy? Hmmmmmm – I’ll have to think about that! 😉 (although to be fair, I should admit to doing them myself with ribbon on other projects and it is really easy…..)

  9. Irene says:

    Looks great!

  10. AudReY says:

    Beautiful, when can I buY a cHarT? It has every technique I likE

    Thanks

    AuDrEY

  11. Maria-T. says:

    It’s lovely! It must be even prettier in person! So looking forward to getting this one to complete the entire set.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

