into the light

You’ll never guess what’s back on the ‘ol stretcher bars.  Well, maybe you will…

If you guessed Illuminata, you’d be correct.  Why bring the behemoth into the light again?

Maybe it’s the enthusiasm that always seems to spring anew when I move back into my studio for the warm half of the year.

Or maybe it’s that the silly thing is nearly half finished, and it bugs me that it’s been floating in limbo since (yikes!) 2008.  I kid you not: that’s the last time I made any changes to the design files.  Oh my.

Or maybe it’s because I miss stitching.  I have to admit even with arthritis, stitching in small doses, is still enjoyable and satisfying.

Or maybe (and this is no small thing), I know many of you haven’t given up hope, and are still are waiting for it, …and I really hate disappointing people.

I guess it’s a combination of all of the above.

So, while progress may be glacially slow, please know that I haven’t consigned the beast to oblivion.

It Lives!

This entry was posted in Needlework and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to into the light

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve loved your work for years. When I first saw the glimpses of this work, I started drooling. It combines two of my favorite things to do…needlework and illumination (and the calligraphy to go with it). I have been waiting to see if it will be continued, and am so glad that you’ve put it back into rotation for work. Thank you. 🙂

    Liz

  2. Dette Heaps says:

    So happy to see you are stitching again – although I have to admit I want this design yesterday! lol
    It looks wonderful so far and I know the rest is too. Can’t wait to stitch it – miss you! Dette

  3. Thutmosis says:

    Yay! You’re back! And your stitching is beautiful.

  4. Zeusgirl says:

    This is great news. I’m so happy to hear it.

  5. Thanks so much for commenting, everyone! I truly appreciate your support! For those of you who asked, I’ll dig the images up and put them in my next post. Thank you again!

  6. Giovanna says:

    It will be wonderful to see this published, and I’ll be in the line to get it – the teasers I remember seeing were gorgeous.

  7. Jan Jones says:

    Wahoo!!! This is wonderful news and as you can see from the comments there’s still many of us diehard TW fans out there. Glad to hear you’ve caught the stitching bug again despite having to deal with your arthritis.

  8. Jenny says:

    WHOOOOO HOOOOOO!!!!! I ca’t tell you how happy that makes me!!!! I actually sent a grovelling email to Teresa about a month ago, so maybe I’ve helped encourage her!!!! YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!!!

  9. Cathy, North Carolina says:

    That’s wonderful news – all of it! I have the few photos you’ve posted on my screensaver rotation because even those small bits are wonderful! Enjoy the process!

  10. Irene says:

    Great to read that you are able to do some stitching!

  11. Fiona says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 No need for words from me….. {{{hugs}}}

  12. Lynn H says:

    Yippee! What wonderful news. Hope you’ll be able to share a picture soon as I have never been able to find pictures of you work on this piece. Hope your hands aren’t to painful and that you are able to get respite from your arthritis it’s an awful disease

  13. clioratha says:

    I’m very glad to hear that you’re feeling better and up to stitching!

    I was just thinking the other day about Illuminata. But like Whiz said….take it easy. We can wait 🙂

  14. Silverlotus says:

    How funny! Erica and I were just talking about it the other week, saying how much we’d like to stitch it. It is nice to hear you are still working away on it. I know there are lots of stitchers waiting very patiently for it. 😀

  15. Ann (WhizGidget) says:

    In reading this you could knock me over with a feather. Seriously? *REALLY???!!?*

    Teresa, take it easy on those hands, and I look forward to whatever glimpses of progress you’re willing to share. Ever. Just knowing you’re working on it and it’s not consigned to a dark corner where it can weep for being neglected (you know how emotional those WIPs can be!) is enough for me.

  16. Maria says:

    Oh this is a lovely piece of news. So happy to learn you are feeling good – and to be stitching. In pure selfish mode – I do look forward to seeing a picture at some point. Although being a slow stitcher myself, I’ve come to accept that “stitching” for me moves at it’s own pace, no matter how much I wish otherwise!

  17. Audrey Davis says:

    welcome back
    happy spring/summer
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

