(wishful) thinking ahead

It’s been really hot in so much of the US… I’m looking forward to cooler weather already.

Not sure why it is that things Christmas-y begin to pop into my mind at this time of year, but pop they do.  (And it’s a good thing, because gift-stitching must begin in earnest soon if I’m to get anything accomplished!)

I’ve been thinking about designing a collection of Christmas ornaments for awhile, so have taken the plunge (“The Behemoth” a.k.a. Illuminata will continue to be in process for quite some time yet. By the way, I’m going to choose a new name; there are too many uses of that particular name out there for my liking.)

My fascination with gothic-style tracery motifs figures prominently.  I wanted to do something unique enough to hold one’s interest long enough to stitch the collection (there are 6).  I’m also going for: visually interesting (the strong graphic element of the tracery), customize-able to individual stitchers’ tastes. (the floral accents will be charted for: plain cross stitch, ribbon embroidery, beads or specialty stitches.)  Because there are limited colors used, changing them should be a breeze.

Here are a couple from the collection (I apologize for the fish-eye effect: my digital camera does that on close-ups for some reason):

this one with ribbon accents:

some detail:

and this one with beads and lazy daisy leaves:

Because the netting pattern can also be moved around within each ornament, giving a different effect, there will effectively be 12 ornaments should one wish to explore all options. 😉  The fabric is 28 count Cashel, color: Raw Linen.

I’m hoping to make the collection available at the beginning of August via PatternsOnLine.com.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to (wishful) thinking ahead

  1. Susan says:

    I love your ribbon embroidery! I like the effect but I haven’t learned how to do that yet. Maybe this will help!

  2. Melissa says:

    I can’t wait for these ornaments to become available! They are beautiful! Glad you are back designing! I have missed you!

  3. Silverlotus says:

    Wow, that is absolutely stunning! I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  4. Angela says:

    yippee!

  5. So pretty! Can’t wait to see the full collection.

  6. Jan Jones says:

    Wonderful Teresa!!! I’m so glad you’re designing again. The christmas ornaments are so eye catching. I can’t wait to add them to my TW Collection. 🙂

  7. Carol says:

    *SO* drool worthy! 🙂 I can see other inspiration coming from those.. and I do love ribbon/specialty stitches…thank you!!!

  8. becky clark says:

    So glad you are designing Teresa! There are no other designs I want to stitch after completing your designs!! Thanks for many happy (and challenging) hours 🙂

  9. Irene says:

    I am so looking forward to these!

  10. Thanks so much everyone! I’m glad you are liking the ornaments so far… I’m really enjoying them as a bit of a break (from Behemoth).;-) My plan is to make each ornament do-able in every technique I mentioned… so, hopefully, there will be something for everybody.
    Thank you again!

  11. Billie Stooksbury says:

    Teresa, thank goodness you still remember your stitchers who love your work and think highly of your artistic abilities. Love the ornament Idea, can’t wait to ge my hands or should I say my needle on the projects.
    Thanks.

  12. Paula says:

    They look fabulous. Lovely to see you designing again.

  13. Fiona says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 Beautiful….you certainly haven’t lost your touch!!!

  14. Jo says:

    Beautiful! Can’t wait for them to come out

  15. Both very pretty. I might even learn how to do ribbon work for that top one! 🙂

  16. Thank you Teresa! I defenetely wish you a good luck with these ornaments. I beleive you will release pattern as it planned. I a’m changing my calendar to make them ready for X-mas!!!!!!

  17. Belinda says:

    Oh, very pretty! I’m looking forward to them (as well as to the pattern-formerly-known-as-Illuminata….)

  18. Maria says:

    How beautiful – delicate and soft, and yet so intricate and detailed! Looking forward to adding these to my list too.
    Plus “also-known-as-Illuminata” – patient progress is an inspiration, especially in the hot weather.

  19. Sara says:

    Can’t wait to see the whole collection, the pictures you’ve shared so far are gorgeous! I see lots of possibilities for variation and different looks.

  20. Zeusgirl says:

    They are gorgeous, Teresa! I will definitely be buying those.

  21. Cheryl says:

    Great news about the ornaments! I’ll look forward to that. And, I, too, am glad the “behemoth” (whatever it’s name comes to be) is still in the works. Maybe have a naming “contest”?

  22. Lynn H says:

    PS Your ornaments are lovely and will teach me some new things

  23. Annette says:

    Love the new ornaments! I’m glad previously-known-as-Illuminata is still making progress. Amazing how words change over time…I remember that naming discussion so long ago!

  24. YAY!!!!!!!!!!! I just *knew* your journey would lead you back to designing! 😉 A new name? Like a new business name? Wentzler Artworks has a nice ring to it.

  25. Lynn H says:

    This is wonderful news Teresa, This means future patterns for all of us and that your hands and wrists are doing well.
    Right now I am doing your Summer Carousel Horse it’s a wonderful stitch. I tend to go through my stash for each project and it’s usually one of yours that catches my eyes

Leave a Reply

