lace and cables… and mistakes

A (very) short update on the sweater I’ve started.

Pretty much immediately after my post about it, I located an error, and because I’m a perfectionist, I couldn’t just fudge an extra stitch or two and ‘let it go’.  Oh no. I wound up ripping out several rows and have just nicely gotten back to the point where I was before.  I’m not a fast knitter.  Kinda goes without saying, I guess.

But at least now I know it’s right.  Small consolation, but I’ll take it. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to lace and cables… and mistakes

  1. Mary says:

    You did the right thing. I had started a aran afghan as my 3rd project- self taught, and a Fair Isle was my second- and after the first foot of the panel, I ‘got it’, but I kept going and finished the panel. The top 2/3rds looks just right, but I couldn’t live with the beginning of it. Ripped out the whole thing and didn’t end up doing it again. It taught me a lot though. Keep going for the results you want, because your results are wonderful!

    • My, my! That poor sweater has languished for months now. Maybe I’ll get back to it someday. Like you said: It’s taught me a lot… even if I never do get back to it. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Theresa Brooks says:

    If you had left it, the mistake would have bothered you every time you saw the sweater! Really glad to hear you are getting back to doing some handwork. I know it is maddening sometimes to not be able to do everything we used to be able to do!

Leave a Reply

