Some of the process…

I promised a peek at the computer end of things.  The first image is a shot of my designing screen.  I use an older version of VectorWorks (a CAD program) on an old Mac laptop (my first!) running an ancient operating system OS9.  But it works just fine for my needs.

This is the cloister garden scene near the bottom of Illuminata. (I think in the distant past I posted a pencil sketch; this version is pretty much the same as the original drawing).

The colored stuff on the right are the color symbols I’m using in the piece.  Each symbol was created individually and then placed into a library which was built over a period of years.  It seemed like each new design required new symbols, so by now, the collection is pretty extensive.  Each symbol must be placed individually on the grid.

The heavier lines are backstitch lines of which I’m fairly certain.  The thin sketchy lines are just lines drawn in to give me an idea where I’m planning to place various items.  These lines are deleted when they are no longer useful or get in my way.  (Since the design is created in layers, I can work on just the backstitching or just the symbols or on any other area for which I’ve created a separate layer, without messing up the other layers.)

I don’t know if you can see or not, but by the sketchy lines, I’m planning quite a bit of greenery and flowers, a fruit tree (not sure yet what kind), and the edge of a pool/pond in the lower left corner.  A lot of the colonnade will be obscured by climbing greenery, and by the tree, so much of that backstitch detail will also be deleted as I go.

This is just a view without the rest of the screen clutter.  I’ve place a few color symbols in the topiary at the far left.  My plan is to make the areas behind the colonnade deep shadow to give the scene more depth, while what’s toward the front will be lighter brighter colors.

I’m not sure you can see or not, but the figures are designed over-one while the rest of the scene will be designed for over-two stitching.  The figures are being designed in a separate file where each grid block equals one over-one stitch, so I can still utilize my main color symbols library.  The backstitch lines in the image above were copied and pasted from from the over-one file and reduced by 50% to be proportionate with the main design file.

This is a shot of the over-one file of the figures… as you can see, they’re still in process.  I’ve got color symbols stuck all over the place so I can select them quickly with the symbol placement tool instead of opening the library every time I want to switch colors.  Not sure at this point if the colors will stay the same…

So, there you have a peek at the technical end of things.  Hope I didn’t put you to sleep!  If you’re interested, I can share more of the process as I go… I don’t want to overwhelm with technical stuff.   Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Needlework and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Some of the process…

  1. Mary says:

    I love to see your process! Please keep doing this!

  2. thegreytail says:

    oh, Teresa! this is so interesting and I’m such a curious stitcher! 😀
    yes, please feel free to show whichever bit of information/step you fancy sharing, this was incredibly nice to see and learn – and now I do understand how you manage to have so many prospective layers in your scenes without getting weird angles or lose details: you do actually use layers! 😀
    and how sweet to see a Powerbook G4 again! mine is safely stored in the attic! 😀
    I’ll definitely tell my other Wentzler needlework friends about this post so that they can peep into your fascinating designing process.

  3. naritat says:

    Uh oh! Now that Mary added your site to her message to all of us, you’re going to be INUNDATED! I stitched your unicorn years ago and loved it. One of my first pieces ever. I love your things. And this one, I’m thinking I must stitch as well! I’m loving it so far. Thank you so sharing it with us.

  4. Thanks for your comments, everyone! Please bear in mind that this is just my process… every designer’s creative endeavor is different. It’s a bit convoluted and time-consuming, but it works for me. As far as a release date: I’m sorry, I honestly have no idea. Before 2025 sounds good! 😉

  5. Galhenat says:

    Wow! Both on the amount of work and on the not-yet-finished piece. And I thought you knew your blends by heart by now… 😉
    And another vote for more posts on this.
    Do I dare to ask if there is a very tentative date for release yet? You know, as in before 2025 or something. 😉

    Thank you for sharing with us.

  6. Sandy says:

    I am absolutely staggered by the sheer amount of technical work (and creative work) involved to bring a pattern into my hands. This gives me a much greater respect, for I know when I see all those symbols on my next pattern and sigh…..I will remember all the labor of love put into it. Thank you, and I most certainly would love to learn more.

  7. Xstitch87 says:

    You are a Queen and I bow down to your exquisite artistry!
    Thank you for the hours and hours of hard work you have put into the patterns you produce.

  8. I’ve always appreciated a nice pattern, but this really and truly amps up my appreciation even more! Thank you so much for sharing this.

  9. Terry says:

    Oh my goodness! Now I know why I don’t design. I’m glad that you do so I can have the lovely finished project myself.

  10. Reblogged this on xsfav14 and commented:
    Definitely interested in seeing more! Very cool process!

  11. Thanks for your feedback, everyone! As I progress, I’ll post more images and a bit more about the nut and bolts end of the process. Thanks so much for commenting!

  12. Joanne P says:

    Absolutely fascinating! It is so interesting to read about the process and even better to see the actual pictures and sketches too.
    It is so complex on a computer, I can only imagine what it was like when you only had pencil and paper! I do my one designs using graph paper and pencil but it doesn’t matter if a lot of the design process happens on the fabric because it’s only me using them! You have to think about all of us following your instructions.

  13. Loretta says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us! I love seeing the processes that designers go through to create their designs and everyone’s is just a smidge different.

  14. Irene says:

    Thank you for sharing!

  15. Lisa says:

    OH WOW!!!!!!! Designing your projects is even more complicated as stitching one can be. But I knew that. LOL The nice thing about layers is that you don’t have to “re do” it all when you want to change a few small things.

  16. Liz says:

    Amazing! Would love to see more of the process, please!

  17. Thank you. I love getting glimpses of your design process and found this absolutely fascinating.

  18. Fiona Birchall says:

    Truly scrumptious!! 🙂

  19. that’s incredibly complicated! V interested in how you fit in the over-one areas.

  20. Ann says:

    Oh WOW! I am just blown away by the detail at which you work. And this is absolutely gorgeous! (although, if ever released, I might adjust the man’s face a bit – something seems a little off in details to me, but that’s just me).
    Thanks so much for sharing these details with us….

  21. Magical says:

    This was interesting to read – thanks! I would love to see more posts like this 😀

  22. Dima says:

    Wow! I knew the process had to be complicated given the details in your designs, but I never imagined how much. I would love to see more 🙂

Leave a Reply

