Moment of truth

Sorry for the pause… I was under the weather for a few days.

I did finally manage to design enough of the corner of the scene to feel I should stop and actually do some stitching to make sure of my color choices:

A little note: I’m planning to add flowers to the greenery… but I’m not happy with how it looks with just plain cross stitches on the computer screen.  So I’ll be experimenting as I stitch.   Now that I’d like to do some stitching,  I need the color symbols translated into black and white glyphs so I can print it out and read it. (I can’t stitch from a computer screen.  I’ve tried, trust me.)

Because this piece is so huge, I’ve broken it up into various areas so I can work with smaller “satellite” files as I design.  I love my little G4, but alas, it is slow with gargantuan files.  I have a file for the city scene at the top of the piece.  I have one for the lettering.  I have this one for the cloister scene, and so forth.  But,  I do have a main file in which all of the designing I’ve done so far has been recorded.  It’s in this file that I’ve done all of the editing to black and white (thus far).  When I finish designing something in one of my satellite files, and I’m ready to try some stitching, I copy and paste the color symbols into the main file where they are supposed to be located in the design:

The red line in this image outlines roughly the symbols I’ll copy and paste into the main file:

Then into the main file in the proper location:

Viola!  The symbols are translated.  Next, I print out this area…  which I’m sure you’ve  noticed is really pretty small compared to the rest of the cloister scene space.  Sigh.  I feel like I’ve been working on it forever!  But that’s the way my process goes:  I struggle and work to get colors just right… but when I do, things generally move along much more quickly after that.

and I’m ready to stitch:

The cloister scene fits into the blank area.  My fingers are itching to get to it!

The moment of truth:  will the colors work, or will I be going back to the drawing board?  I’ll let you know soon!

This entry was posted in Needlework and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Moment of truth

  1. Tina says:

    This is just beautiful like all of your works of art are. Looking forward to this coming out. Currently stitching Fall Carousel and loving the blending filaments. By working on Fall I truly appreciate your delicate precision of color blending and various stitches. I was extremely scared of the pattern at first but now I am in love with it and can hardly put it down.

  2. thegreytail says:

    oh this is so interesting, and it truly proves how much dedication and effort goes into each single design. thank you for showing us!

  3. Galhenat says:

    It’s quiet…. I hope that means that Teresa is stitching. 🙂

    • Alas, I wish that was the case…I’m back at my seasonal job a bit earlier than I originally planned. Hopefully, I’ll get the chance to do a bit of stitching over the weekend, and answer the rest of the comments, too!

  4. mrsblocko says:

    I’m just giddy reading these posts! I love seeing the design process and am super excited for your final reveal down the road!

  5. CatherineMichelle says:

    I’m sorry that you haven’t been well. I hope you feel better now. Take care!

  6. Theresa says:

    Teresa, I think this will be amazing! When you say it’s huge, can you tell us how large you expect it to be? Someone on a very old blog post said it was to be 21.75″x14.25″ and you pictures seem to show the height being the longest measure. My floor frame can handle fabric up to 30″ wide, but I can order a longer crossbar and scroll frames if it’s larger than that. Thanks for sharing your process.

    • Theresa, those measurements are correct. The fabric is 28 count linen. I usually recommend 3 inches of extra fabric on each side for framing, so you should be fine: the width will be about 20.25″.

  7. Dani says:

    The border alone for the Cloister scene is amazing!

  8. Joanne P says:

    I’m getting so excited now! The whole piece looks amazing so far, I can’t wait to see the computer picture transformed into stitches.
    Thank you so much for sharing this process in so much detail. It’s fascinating

  9. s a ndra says:

    Im loving what I see.

  10. Irene says:

    Oooh, I can’t wait to see the result. It looks gorgeous so far!

  11. Reblogged this on xsfav14 and commented:
    I am so loving the updates on this amazing design! I don’t care if it takes another 5 years to be finished. The day it is released – it is going to be mine!! It is just simply spectacular!

  12. CatherineMichelle says:

    It’s like a saga!!! I just love these posts. They are so instructives! And the design is wonderful!!!! As Christine said, I can’t wait to see the big picture hidden under the rolls!! Thank you, Teresa, for sharing! It’s a delight to witness your creative process.

  13. Thank you! When you next move your scroll bars around, would you be willing to let us see what you have stitched so far that is wrapped on the bars? I know we’ve seen bits, but would love to see more. (Ok, I admit to being impatient!)

    • Christine, you all deserve to see what’s finished so far simply by virtue of your patience during the last several years! One of the next posts will have an image of what’s done so far. Thanks for following along and for your encouragement!

  14. I’m so thankful that you are posting these details. It’s amazing to see the process!

  15. rifestitch says:

    I can’t WAIT!!! I am so excited to be watching your progress on this, and to see behind the curtain a bit – this explains how you designed Fantasy Triptych without totally losing your mind and getting all 3 of those panels to be perfectly matched! Guess I better get cranking on EGS so it can be out of the WIP pile when this beauty finally gets published 🙂

    • Thanks, rifestitch! I don’t think you need to hurry on those WIPs… 😉 I admit, the computer does make certain aspect of designing less frustrating. One of my big challenges is to remember that past a certain point, a design can become not worth the effort of stitching… which is why I prefer to stitch my own designs so I can simplify what needs to be simplified. Good luck with the Triptych!

  16. Ann says:

    I have faith in you! … it’s so pretty…. Thanks again for sharing this part of the process with us. I knew it was intricate, but this level of detail really puts it into perspective (especially after finishing ‘The Fortunate Traveller’ it makes me think what went into *that* piece)

    • Thanks, Ann! Glad you’re enjoying the process. Yes, I remember the Traveler… another project that took an age to design and stitch… and I had help with that one! (Thank you, Jennifer Aikman-Smith!)

Leave a Reply

