New Year Wishes

It’s been a long year: extraordinary in so many ways both wonderful and… well…not-so-much.  Mostly for me though, I’m just ready (as I always am), to bid this tired old year adieu! and to look forward to beginning the new year afresh.

That said, I have had to make a difficult decision for the new year.  Unfortunately, arthritis has advanced to the stage where I can’t hold onto a needle for more than a couple minutes at a time.  Since I have to stitch what I design or there’s no joy in it for me, I’ve had to face facts and give up on designs I had harbored hopes of finishing… including Illuminata, and the crewel designs I had started.  It’s simply beyond my ability now.  A tough pill to swallow: not just my physical limitation, but more distressing: the disappointment to loyal stitchers who’ve been patiently waiting for designs in process.  I’m so sorry.

I do plan to continue making re-charts of my older designs available through PatternsOnline  as long as Leisure Arts allows, and as long as my trusty old Mac laptop functions!   I will also make every effort keep the  TWDesignworks website in place for as long as patterns are available. This blog will also stay for now.

Please know that I am so very grateful to all of you who have supported my designing efforts over the last (Egad!?) 30 years.  It has been a truly amazing journey, such a joy and an honor to have had the opportunity to design for you!  “Thank you” seems wildly inadequate… but here goes anyway: Thank you!

My fondest wish is that this post finds you looking forward to 2017, no matter what challenges may be ahead!  May you find all you hope for and more!

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to New Year Wishes

  1. Susan Silva says:

    Thank you for your time and talent! I too fell in love with Castle immediately when I saw it as a novice stitcher. It took many years for me to get it finished but I’m very proud of it hanging on my wall. It was a thrill to meet you and get to have dinner with you that year at the needlework show in Southern California. Something I will never forget! I am thankful to have already obtained so many of your wonderful designs and I hope to still have lots of years of stitching ahead of me!

  2. Renee says:

    Your patterns immediately caught my eye when I was a new stitcher and you quickly became my favorite designer. The subjects were beautifully portrayed, but the gorgeous colors were what sucked me in. I mangled several different patterns before my skills caught up with the advanced stitches you use. Thank you for your lovely contributions to the art. I feel that you have always been a step above every other offering out there and you’ve completely ruined me for simple pieces! No quarter stitches? It looks like it’s a horribly pixelized blob with whiskers? Ugh, back on the rack you go. Also, thank you for being so kind when I emailed you a picture of a piece of yours I finished.

    My grandmother swears by gin soaked raisins for her arthritis, but we’ve always wondered if the raisins were just her socially acceptable trojan horse for the gin. I hope you find something that provides you some relief (whatever it may be). My best to you and your family.

  3. Lee says:

    TW, I am a huge fan and LOVE all your designs. For those of us who love and respect your work… You will live FOREVER on our walls, in our hearts and dreams. Thank you for sharing your love and talents with us!! Dragons live forever! I’m still working up to ‘Dragon Rider’ my ultimate dream. Your designs have colored my life! Happy 2017, may God bless and keep you!

  4. rc says:

    While I was one of the people looking forward to Illuminata, I’m far from disappointed. You have left a wealth of designs for past, present and future stitchers to enjoy. I especially love that you have used patternsonline.com to allow stitchers to buy charts that may be out of print. Thank you for many years of pleasure I’ve had stitching and admiring your designs. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  5. Kirstin Jackson says:

    Dear Teresa,
    I already commented earlier on this blogpost but since your announcement I’ve been reminiscing over just how much of a steadfast, standout, favourite, beloved, designer you have been in my stitchy world… I said earlier you were the first designer I fell in love with and your English Cottage and English Garden samplers were two of my first ever chart purchases… I have always viewed your designs with awe… And your borders?!? Oh your borders… How I love your borders!!! I have just hauled out my collection of your charts *gulp* I didn’t realise just how many I have!
    Dear Teresa, your new designs will be missed and long lamented but I know that so many of us have designs enough of yours to keep us stitching in your name for many, many, years to come… You have created a legacy that will live long past any of us as we who love you so much will be sure to keep your designs alive.
    Thank you doesn’t seem quite right really… But from the depths of my fantasy loving, cross stitch obsessed heart, thank you. XXX

  6. Thank you Teresa! I love your designs and still have so many to stitch. Hoping that the arthritis is easing and looking forward to seeing more of your sketching.

  7. Lisa says:

    I’m so glad to hear you can still draw and pursue other creative outlets. Thank you so much for your designs and also sharing and being part of the stitching community online. I remember discovering the TWBB board in 2003 and being awestruck that you actually visited and chatted (online) to us mere mortals. While sad that illuminata won’t be completed I am comforted in knowing that you have so many designs published that I will never be able to stitch them all as it is, Best wishes for 2017 🙂

  8. Jenny says:

    Your design The Castle was the design that started me on a wonderful journey. Thank you for your time and talent.

  9. Thank you all so very much for your well-wishes! While I will miss stitching/designing very much, I know that when one chapter ends, another one has room to begin! Thankfully, drawing requires different hand/joint/muscle demands, so I’ll be focusing on channeling my creative energy in that direction. Again, many thanks to you all! And may the new year bring you tons and tons of joy! 🙂

  10. Jo says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that Teresa. You have gifted us with so many wonderful designs over the years, a few less really doesn’t matter. Your health is far more important and I hope you have other activities that you enjoy that can fill the gap left behind. Jo

  11. LAURA LOVE says:

    Happy New Year! So sorry to hear this news but it is totally understandable. Arthritis is a tough thing to deal with. I have to say that you are truly one of my most favorite designers. I have loved your designs for many years and have quite a few in my stash. I always felt like tackling your gorgeous projects was something I aspired too once I felt like I had enough stitching practice 🙂 I have started The Fortunate Traveler and am loving it! Now I can’t wait to stitch more! Thank you so much for the many years of stunning artwork for us stitchers to enjoy. I am glad that some of your designs will still be available for purchase as there are a few more I would like to get. Have a blessed year – big hugs! Laura

  12. Happy New Year to you! Thank you so much for all of the beautiful designs you have created over the years. I never would have gotten back into stitching if it wasn’t for your designs.

  13. Belinda says:

    I am sad to hear that the time has come to hang up your needles, but thank you so much for the many beautiful designs you’ve given us over the years! I got the Castle from a dragon catalog 20+ years ago and it helped me rediscover a love of stitching, and I’ve never looked back. Even without Illuminata, I have so many of your wonderful dragons left to stitch.

    May 2017 be a wonderful year for you.

  14. I have arthritis as well. So sad to have our bodies betray us. Thank you for your stunning patterns.

  15. Kirstin says:

    Thank you Teresa. Your designs were the first I fell in love with over 20 years ago. I have so many I know that i’ll never stitch them all, I just enjoy looking through my charts and making ‘one day’ plans for them all…

  16. Jo-Anne Mason says:

    Happy New Year Teresa! Having a father who suffered terribly with Arthritis, I can understand what you are going through and I am so sorry you are dealing with this. I shall always remember the ‘Olden Days’ when we were all much younger and had such fun in Nashville. I hope you find something to fill your crafty gap because you are one of the most wonderfully, creative people I have had to pleasure to meet.
    Much love!
    Jo

  17. Mary says:

    Very sorry to hear that. Your designs may not be the easiest to stitch, but they have given me many hours of pleasure and are the stars on my walls. Please don’t give up all hope of stitching again, there are new treatments all the time and many medications and drug free treatments that provide relief for different people. Do take care of yourself and enjoy what you can do.
    Mary

  18. Alisa says:

    I’m very sorry to hear this. Your designs bring me great joy when I am working on them as well as after I have finished them. I do hope you and your family have a happy new year even with this sad development.

  19. Irene says:

    So sorry to read that Teresa, arthritis is a horrible thing. You have given us all many wonderful designs though, that having a few less won’t hurt.

    Wishing you a wonderful 2017!

  20. Laura Mansfield says:

    💚Theresa you will always be my favorite designer!!.. You were my first bigger design 25 years ago with The Castle… I hope to finish more in 2017..be well and may 2017 bring you magic…You will be in my prayers

  21. Thank you Teresa for the beautiful designs you have added to the needlework world. You have brought joy to so many of us and we are thankful for ths life time of stitching you have given us.

    I hope you find other outlets for your amazing creativity.

  22. Anne S says:

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re unable to stitch and do one thing that means so much to you. I hope you continue to find joy in other things, safe in the knowledge that your amazing designs have left such a legacy for Stitchers that they’ll be stitching your designs for decades to come. While you’re not able to create the new designs you want to, your existing designs will continue to bring excitement and joy to the stitching community. Thank you for all those designs – you were the only designer I moved heaven and earth to track down older designs and the work you’re doing to continue to make these more accessible is awesome. Thank you for enriching my stitching life over the years 🙂 all the best for 2017 and beyond 🙂

  23. Christine says:

    So sorry to hear that. I hope that you have other activities that bring you joy. Best wishes for a good 2017.

  24. Joanne P says:

    I am sorry to hear that, you were one of the first designers whose charts and books I bought when I first started stitching in the Nineties. I am currently stitching the set of Byzantine Ornaments on burgundy fabric in rich gold colours.
    I hope you will continue to stay healthy and enjoy seeing the world stitch your beautiful designs for many more years.

  25. Evgeniia says:

    Dear Teresa, Happy New Year! Hope that 2017 brings you more wonderful and positive things! Thank you for being with us and giving that wonderful opportunity to deep down in magical world of your imagination and desings! Thank you so much! Happy New 2017!

  26. Becky says:

    I can’t imagine how painful giving it up has been. I’m so sorry. I would have loved to see the finished Illuminata based on the progress photos. I’m sure your disappointment is greater than any stitchers. Thank you for so many wonderful designs over the years and many happy and challenging hours stitching!! More designs than I’ll ever finish in a lifetime. Wishing you the best in the new year.

  27. Theresa Brooks says:

    I’m very sad that your pain has taken your joy in stitching. I hope you still have much in your life that gives you joy, thank you so much for all the beauty you have brought to all of us. I really hope 2017 is a great year for all of us!

  28. Maria says:

    Thank YOU dear Teresa. Your art, artist, eye, and work have been an inspiration and a blessing for all those that got to share it and participate with your patterns. Sending hugs to you for the new year and God bless you.
    Maria

Leave a Reply

